Reed penalized at Hero for enhancing lie, blames digicam angle

88




NASSAU, Bahamas – Upon strolling into the scoring tent Friday on the Hero World Problem, Patrick Reed was greeted with some unlucky information: he was being penalized two pictures for enhancing his line of play, and there was video proof to help the ruling.
The penalty occurred on the par-5 11th gap throughout Reed’s third spherical at Albany Golf Course. He was main the event at 12 underneath and getting ready to play his third shot from a buried lie within the waste space when cameras confirmed him twice brushing again sand from immediately behind the ball along with his membership after deal with.
After the spherical, Reed was discovered to have violated Rule 8.1a(4), which prohibits gamers from eradicating or urgent down sand or free soil in an effort to enhance the circumstances affecting the stroke.
“You could possibly see, the membership did get behind the ball nearer after which when he took it away, you would see the trail of the sand come away in two totally different events,” stated Slugger White, PGA Tour’s vp of guidelines and competitions. “He did it the primary time and he put the membership down once more and he did it one other time, however that’s irrelevant. It doesn’t make any distinction.”
Reed’s two-shot penalty turned his bogey on the opening right into a triple bogey, and as an alternative of capturing even-par 72 and coming into Sunday’s remaining spherical a shot off the lead, Reed was credited with a third-round 74 and can begin the ultimate spherical at 10 underneath, three pictures behind chief Gary Woodland.
“I settle for that,” stated Reed after a nearly-five-minute dialogue with guidelines officers. “It wasn’t due to any intent. I felt like I used to be far sufficient away, however due to what we noticed…”
Reed tried to clarify that his ball was sitting in a “fairly good footprint” and on each events his clubface was about Four inches away from the ball when he pulled it again and brushed away “somewhat sand.” However he added that the one digicam angle got here from behind the ball, and from his perspective, he was not enhancing his lie.

Hero World Problem: Full-field scores | Full protection
“I used to be far sufficient away from the golf ball as a result of after I take my observe swings anyhow, I do not ever put the membership immediately behind the ball as a result of I am at all times terrified of the ball shifting,” Reed stated. “I am at all times going to offer myself some room, particularly on observe swings. After seeing that digicam angle, as a result of it brushed the sand, it is a penalty. … It’s a large half, intent, however on the similar time, once you solely have one digicam angle, that is all you possibly can go off of.”
White stated Reed was a “gentleman” when knowledgeable of the infraction, however added that intent wouldn’t have mattered on this state of affairs.
“That’s not within the combine,” White stated.
Regardless of the expensive penalty, Reed, who will tee off at 10:43 a.m. ET Saturday alongside Jon Rahm within the third-to-last pairing, was ready to rapidly transfer on.
“On the finish of the day, you have to let issues form of roll off your shoulders, and likewise on the similar time I nonetheless have a complete different spherical to play tomorrow,” Reed stated. “If I stew over one thing that I felt like I did not deliberately do – on the finish of the day, it is my phrase versus their phrase, they usually weren’t standing there, they’d a digicam angle, so due to that, you recognize, you do not actually have a selection – however on the finish of the day, I imply, after seeing it, after seeing the membership return and brush some sand, I imply, they thought that that is a breach and within the Guidelines of Golf in case you enhance your lie. … On the finish of the day, it’s a must to simply settle for it and transfer on.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More